2024 TIO CAFL Senior Men's and Women's TIO Round Recap


The Central Australian Football League (CAFL) and TIO (Territory Insurance Office)  once again celebrated their enduring partnership amidst the thrills of Round 11 in the 2024 TIO CAFL season.

TIO, a proud supporter of Territory football for 32 years , joined forces with the CAFL for the TIO Family Fun Day to provide fans of all ages with a memorable experience filled with free activities and exhilarating football action. 

The women's division kicked off with a bang on Friday night, showcasing intense competition and standout performances. Alkamilya delivered a commanding performance with co-captain Kaitlyn Armstrong leading the charge with an incredible 11-goal spectacle. This stellar performance not only secured a crucial win for Alkamilya but also catapulted Armstrong into second place in the goal-kicking tally for the season. 

Alkamilya's precision was evident with impressive goalkicking accuracy, supported by outstanding midfield play from Shaniya Cooper and dominant clearances by Chrissie Davis. Despite South's defense, which faced a tough challenge, they achieved a significant milestone by posting their highest score of the season, reflecting positive progress with notable contributions from Nataliea Laughton and Makita Martin. 

Rovers continued their strong form with a convincing victory over Federal, highlighted by Brooke Wilson and Ebony Abbott-McCormack's three-goal performances. Captain Lara Harding shone brightly, earning best on ground honors, while Carlee Warburton and Montanna Hudson also made significant contributions with two goals each. 

Defense took centre stage in the clash between West and Pioneer, with West prevailing by 42 points. Despite Pioneer's commendable defensive efforts, West's Rachel Davine stood out as best on ground, supported by Jessica Harnischfeger, who continues to stake her claim for the Margaret Liddle Medal. 

In the men's division, Pioneer showcased dominance against West with Marcus McDonald and Waylon Manson leading the charge, each kicking seven goals. Their relentless attacking posed a challenge for West's defense throughout the match. Supporting them, Kane Sevallos, Matt Campbell, and Elijah Baker contributed significantly to Pioneer's cohesive team effort, overwhelming their opponents with constant pressure, and scoring opportunities. 

Despite West's tough outing, Antonio Riley displayed resilience with two goals, while James O'Hare impressed with four goals, highlighting West's determination against a strong adversary. 

Meanwhile, Rovers maintained their excellent form with a decisive 37-point victory, achieving their second consecutive 100-point game. Darren Abbott orchestrated the Rovers' attack expertly, creating pivotal scoring chances that secured the win. Lucas Ross stood out alongside Terrance Campbell and Adam Cullen, each contributing three goals, showcasing Rovers' depth and efficiency in front of goal. 

Souths demonstrated grit, particularly in the final quarter where they outscored Rovers five goals to two, reducing the final margin to 37 points. Orlando Turner's contribution, alongside NTFL (Northern Territory Football League) Buffaloes star Daniel Stafford, bolstered Souths' effort, underscoring their competitive spirit despite the match's challenges. 

Competition news