2024 SunCable BRFL Senior Men’s and Women’s No More Round Recap

BRFL No More Recap

Over the weekend, the AFL Northern Territory (AFL NT) and No More joined forces for a powerful initiative during the ‘No More Round’ in the Big Rivers Football League, delivering a resounding message against family violence. 

Following each match, the league selected a player to receive the prestigious ‘Spirit of the Game’ award. This accolade recognized individuals who exemplified community and team respect, fair play, teamwork, exemplary on-field behavior, and leadership within their community. 

In the women’s division, a thrilling encounter between Eastside and Arnhem Crows played out, where Eastside sought revenge for the previous week. 

Captain Kaleishia Ross was her usual self with exceptional leadership, with Jayde De La Coeur also a strong performer, and vice-captain Lee-Shay Gillett also continuing her consistent season, being named the No More ‘Spirit of the Game’ Medalist for the clash.

Tynequa Bush was amongst the best for the Crows, who left it all on the field. 

The 16-point win has tied the Crows and Eastside in points on the ladder, however, it’s the Crows 251% percentage that keeps them in first place. 

The Katherine Camels had a day out on Saturday with an 87-point win over Katherine South. 

It was captain Sarah Assmus and TIO NTFL St Mary’s star Grace Senior who combined for 10 goals, with five goals each. Chloe Jacobs was also outstanding, with Taylor-Jade Glover also playing well. For the Camels, it was an all-round powerful performance from everyone. 

Harriet Rowe was Katherine South’s best on the ground with Gretel Bailey-Preston who stayed resilient. 

Both Grace Henderson Mott and Rachel Hens were awarded the 'Spirit of the Game’ award. 

In the men’s, the Arnhem Crows cemented a big win against Eastside, as Ngukurr snuck past Northern Warlpiri, and the Camels going two from two in the men’s and women’s over the weekend. 

It was all Arnhem Crows against Eastside as the Crows put their opponents away in a 66-point win on Friday night. 

Led by captain Shanton Ladd with two goals, the Crows were exceptional. Cassien Sambono and Aidan Lindsay both kicked three goals, as Braun Bush was given best on ground honours, with two goals, as well as Peter Lane, who is very much making a statement to be named the Doug Kelly Medalist in 2024. 

However, Eastside captain Louis Campbell-Kossack would not make it easy for the Crows. 

Robert Campbell was named the match’s ‘Spirit of the Game’ recipient.

Ngukurr have remained in second spot on the ladder getting home in a nine-point thriller over the Northern Warlpiri Swans. 

As season nears its conclusion, every game for Northern Warlpiri has become crucial, and a win would have propelled them into fourth place. But it was not to be as captain Kurtley Silver again led Ngukurr to an important win in terms of premiership favourites. 

Ross Thompson was recognised as the match’s ‘Spirit of the Game’ alongside Northern Warlpiri’s Rico Watson. 

The Camels remain on top of the ladder with a complete performance against Gurindji with a 59-point win. 

Katherine was incredibly accurate in front of goal, which depleted Gurindji's hard work as 18 scoring shots would convert into 14 goals for the match.

The dead eye accuracy meant that Gurindji needed to make their chances count but could not replicate the Camels goal kicking ending the match with four goals from nine scoring shots. 

Jordan Thompson was a standout for the Camels, TIO NTFL Waratah Star, Scott Carlin finding plenty of the ball. Josh Carlin earning himself the ‘Spirit of the Game’ medal, Tristan Warner, and Daniel Gaul all kicked three goals each. 

With Gurindji’s Dayne Ricky also earning the ‘Spirit of the Game’ Medal. 

Competition news