2024 SunCable BRFL Men's and Women's Round Five Recap


Friday night footy kicked off round five of the 2024 SunCable Big Rivers Football League (BRFL) with Eastside taking the chocolates over the Katherine Camels, before a Saturday afternoon matchup saw the Arnhem Crows record their fourth win of the season.

  Eastside took it up a notch in the second half but not before the Camels put on a heavy challenge in the first half at Nitmiluk Oval.   

Eastside did kick two goals early in the first term before a tug-o-war played out with Camels getting a settling goal to make the margin just six points at the first turnaround.

The second quarter mirrored the first term as Eastside held a 15-point lead, but the Camels remained confident, being within a reasonable margin with a half to be played.

However, Eastside responded massively in the second half, keeping the Camels scoreless by kicking four goals.

At the final siren, the final margin was 42 points as Eastside collected their third win of the year bouncing back from a loss in their last game against the Crows.  

TIO NTFL (Northern Territory Football League) St Mary’s star Billie Byers was exceptional for Eastside finding plenty of the ball and finishing with two majors, with teammate Brooke Campbell also kicking two goals.

Jayde De La Coeur has had an incredibly consistent season named as best on the ground once again with Ayesha Kay following close behind.  

Imogen Loftes was praised for her efforts for the Camels despite the loss.  

The Arnhem Crows remained undefeated with an undermanned side in season 2024 as they issued a challenge on Katherine South for a 67-point win.  

The Crows held Katherine South to just 13 points for the whole game, with Katherine South only managing one scoring shot in each term apart from the first term in which they remained scoreless.   

Lynelle Ahfat deservedly was best on the ground, with a spectacular nine goals boosting her into second place on the goal-kicking ladder, with Jenna Singh Lippo kicking three goals, and Trephina Bush winning every contest.  

Teegan Wattam was best on the ground for Katherine South in a tough outing.  

In the Men’s, three teams scored over 100 points with an incredible battle between Northern Warlpiri and Arnhem Crows.  

Under lights on Friday night, the Katherine Camels would not show mercy for the Garrak Bombers, who were hoping to get their second win of the season.  

The Camels had the contest in their hands from the first bounce, as 10 scoring shots converted into 40 points at quarter time, whilst the Bombers managed two goals from turnover.  

The Camels continued their momentum, as a further six goals were kicked in the second leaving the Bombers staring down a 60-point deficit at halftime.

The second half produced more of the same as the Camels kicked 13 more goals to Garrak’s three.  

Harry McKimmie was dominant in the midfield, winning every contest. Jake Seadon (seven goals), Daniel Vercoe (five goals), and Brock Reynolds (four goals) were unstoppable in the forward line providing many issues for the Bomber's defense with strong hands in the marking contest.  

Tyson Cronin kicked two for the Bombers, but captain Alec Bidwee continued to lead from the front.  

It was anyone's game at midday on Saturday as the Northern Warlpiri Swans fell short to the Arnhem Crows.  

In an incredible 10-goal first term, both teams sat equal at the first break at 31 points each with the pendulum swinging heavily in both directions.

The storyline continued in the second quarter as inaccuracies began to settle on both sides with the Crows kicking four goals and four behinds to three goals and two behinds for the Swans.

The mood was intense as the eight-point margin was the only thing separating both sides at the main break.  

The intensity continued into the third quarter as a combined eight goals were scored with four each bridging the margin to just 10 points at three-quarter time.

It was not until the Crows kicked five goals in the last term to the Swans three that allowed Arnhem to pull away for a 21-point win.  

Tyrese Turner was given the best on the ground for some incredible ball use, as Cassien Sambono and Traven Shields kicked four goals each.   

However, even with the Swans naming an undermanned side, they can hold their heads high for putting up an incredible feat against one of the premiership favourites in the 2024 SunCable BRFL season.  

Ngukurr has claimed the top spot on the ladder after fighting off Eastside and walking away with a 50-point win.  

It was a tight contest early on, with Ngukurr holding an eight-point lead at the first break before a swing in momentum brought Eastside to just four points at the main break.  

The halftime break appeared to reignite Ngukurr, sparking a five-goal to one third term that removed any wind from Eastside’s sails.

Ngukurr would go on to add a furthermore five goals in the last to secure the number one spot on the ladder.  

Led by captain Kurtley Silver, Ngukurr rode the wave off the back of his work around the contest. 

Whilst Eastside captain Louis Campbell-Kossack was equally impressive.

Competition news