National Kickstart Championships

AFL National Kickstart Championships in Darwin


2015 National AFL Female KickStart Championships begin in Darwin

The National AFL Female KickStart Championships will begin today at TIO Stadium in Darwin, Northern Territory.

Currently in its third year, the Championships will feature over 100 young Indigenous female AFL players across seven teams representing all states and territories culminating in a Grand Final on Friday September 25.

AFL National Diversity Programs Manager, Ali Fahour, said the Championships provided the AFL another opportunity not only to highlight female footballers but also to showcase the talent within young Indigenous females from across the country.

“The National AFL Female KickStart Championships is a key component of the AFL’s Indigenous strategy which aligns to the long-term vision of a national female competition,” Mr Fahour said.

“The Championships will provide Indigenous females the opportunity to showcase their talent as well as engaging in a number of education sessions focusing on social outcomes such as health, leadership and employment objectives for Indigenous females.

“The week isn’t only about the players, we also provide an upskilling opportunity for our coaches through a series of coaching education sessions,” he said.

The Championships will form the basis for selection to compete in the 2016 National Female Youth Championships as part of the AFL Indigenous Female Woomeras team.

The selection panel will feature AFL Manager - Female Football Development, Jan Cooper, and Head Coach of the recent NEAFL Champions NT Thunder, Xavier Clarke.

All media are invited to attend the opening ceremony at TIO Stadium, Darwin which will commence at 9am local time.

AFL National Diversity Programs Manager Ali Fahour will be available for interview and there will vision opportunities of the matches.

For media enquiries, please contact:
Sophie Henderson
AFL PR & Promotions Manager – Corporate & Community Partnerships
0438 620 660
Georgia Galton
Events & Executive Assistant, AFLNT
0424 278 999

2015 National Female KickStart Championships Schedule:
Tuesday September 22
9:00am: Opening Ceremony
10:00am: NT v SA
11:00am: QLD v NSW/ACT
12:00pm: WA v TAS
3:30pm: VIC v QLD
4:30pm: SA v NSW/ACT
5:30pm: TAS v NT
6:30pm: VIC v WA

Wednesday September 23
9:30am: WA v NSW/ACT
10:30am: SA v TAS
11:30am: VIC v NT
3:00pm: QLD v WA
4:00pm: TAS v NSW/ACT
5:00pm: NT v QLD
6:00pm: SA v VIC

Thursday September 24
9:30am: QLD v TAS
10:30am: NT v WA
11:30am: VIC v NSW/ACT
3:00pm: VIC v TAS
4:00pm: SA v WA
5:00pm: NT v NSW/ACT
6:00pm: SA v QLD

Friday September 25
9:30am: Grand Final
From 10:30am: Presentation