Darryl Window

Darryl Window commenced his Northern Territory Football League (NTFL) career with the Wanderers Football Club in 1973 and has been involved with the code for over 40 years. Darryl enjoyed a footballing career in South Australia before relocating to Darwin. Representing the NTFL against South Fremantle in 1973 at Gardens Oval, Darryl also captained the Wanderers Football Club in 1973/74 before a crippling knee injury curtailed his football career in 1976. Appointed NTFL Secretary in 1977, he held the post until 1985 when he joined the NTFL Board, remaining as a Director until his retirement in 2001. Darryl excelled in sports administration and was a noted innovator, including signing one of the first sponsorship deals for the League and securing advertising contracts at Gardens Oval. He served as NTFL Chairman of Selectors for Representative Matches from 1979 to 2002 as well as the 1988 Bicentennial Carnival. Darryl oversaw the planning for the first ever matches played at Marrara Oval and was a key administrator in the formation of the International Football Council for the 1995 Arafura Games, with the Best and Fairest award named in Darryl’s honour. Highly decorated, Darryl has received tremendous recognition for his service and dedication to football including the National Australian Football Council Certificate of Merit in 1991 and the Australian Sports Medal for Sporting Achievement in 2001. In 2003, Darryl was thanked by the AFLNT Board for appreciation of services to Territory football and in April 2009, was presented with a Certificate of Appreciation for outstanding contribution. Darryl was part of the campaign to have NT Thunder formed and is the proud leader of the ‘Thuderstruck’ supporters group. Awarded Life Membership of the NTFL in 1983, we welcome one of Territory footballs most respected identities, Darryl Window, into the AFLNT Hall of Fame.