Patron - Her Honour the Honourable Sally Thomas AC - Administrator of the Northern Territory

Her Honour the Honourable Sally Thomas AC the current Administrator of the Northern Territory is the Patron of AFL Northern Territory.

Read more about Her Honor and Patronage here:

AFLNT History

History of AFL in the Northern Territory

Click here to download a copy of the NTFL History Book.

Since 1916, Territorians have been proud of their Australian Football Code, and even as far back as this date, unanswered football queries and unresolved arguments and bets have caused many a frustration.

Michael Barfoot and David Lee set about correcting this situation, and thanks to their tenacity and enthusiasm, football enthusiasts now have access to not only players, games, clubs, statistics etc but also the opportunity to rekindle the memories of the outstanding achievements of our footballers.

Michael, NTFL Football Manager since 1984, whilst being in an excellent position of having access to the records, nevertheless patiently compiled all these statistics in his private time. David, whose involvement in football dates back to 1952, when he was a member of St Marys first team, has made outstanding contributions via umpiring for three years, and officiating as a League Commissioner since 1976, his efforts being recognised when awarded NTFL Life Membership in 1993. Both these gentlemen are well qualified to produce this book and we owe them a huge debt.

Click here to download a copy of the History Book.

Michael Long Gets Inducted into Hall of Fame

Robert DiPierdomenico and Michael Long, midfielders in the intense Hawthorn-Essendon rivalry of the '80s, were acclaimed by the football world , being among nine identities inducted into the AFL's Hall of Fame at Crown in 2007.

Melbourne's revered multi- premiership coach Norm Smith was elevated to Legend status, while the others feted were Sydney star Paul Kelly, Hawthorn and Adelaide forward Darren Jarman, West Coast onballer Dean Kemp, Collingwood tough man Murray Weideman, Port Melbourne and South Melbourne ruckman Frank Johnson and long-serving Port Adelaide administrator Bob McLean.

The league introduced the Norm Smith Medal in 1979 and it has become one of the most coveted individual honours in the game.

Michael Long, who played 190 games for the Bombers between 1989-2001, was a two-time premiership player.  But arguably Long's greatest contribution to the game has been his leadership on indigenous issues.  His widely-publicised protest about a racist comment from Collingwood ruckman Damian Monkhorst during a 1995 game was a pivotal moment in the sport changing its attitude towards indigenous players.

Since his retirement, Long has continued to champion indigenous causes.