Jabiru Bombers

Tamara Spence (President) 0419 842 910
Email address
Home ground
Brockman Oval, Jabiru
Postal address
PO Box 490, Jabiru 0886
TIO NTFL Men's Division 2

The Jabiru Bombers Football Club began in the 1982/83 season and was an inaugural member of the Top End Australian Football Association (TEAFA) competition. In 2010/11 the TEAFA and NTFL merged.

They are located in the town of Jabiru, in the Kakadu National Park. Jabiru has a population of approximately 1,150 people and is located 253km south-east of Darwin. 

The Bombers comprise mainly players from the Jabiru region but a number of players are located in other centres such as Darwin, Batchelor, East and South Alligator and Patonga. 

Their travelling and commitment record is unequalled in the Northern Territory for a remote area side that plays in a metropolitan football competition. The Bombers travel over 550 kilometres eight to 12 times a season. On some occasions when the Arnhem Highway is flooded they travel via Pine Creek travelling over 900 kilometres to Darwin and back. 

Darwin Buffaloes premiership player and club champion Greg Bonson captain-coached the Bombers in their first season. 

The Bombers have won two NTFL Division 1 premiership and two NTFL Division 2 premierships. They dropped out of the Division 1 competition before the 1997/98 season after finishing fourth the previous year.