Darwin Buffaloes

Brenda Atkinson (President) 0455 230 328
Email address
Home ground
To be confirmed
Postal address
PO Box 777, Darwin NT 0801
TIO NTFL Men's Premier League
TIO NTFL Men's Division 1
TIO NTFL Women's Premier League
TIO NTFL Women's Division 2
TIO NTFL Under 18 Boys
TIO NTFL Under 18 Girls
TIO NTFL Under 16 Hickman
TIO NTFL Under 16 Leverence
TIO NTFL Under 15 Girls
TIO NTFL Under 14 Boys
TIO NTFL Under 12 Boys

The Darwin Buffaloes Football Club (the Mighty Double Blues) celebrated its centenary in the 2016/17 NTFL season. The “Buffs” have been known as Warriors (1917), Vestey’s (1918), Buffaloes (1926), Darwin (1963) and eventually the Darwin Buffaloes (2010).

The Buffs have won 23 Premier League Grand Finals and have produced AFL players including Matthew Whelan, Andrew McLeod, Matthew Ah Mat, Robert Ah Mat, Matthew Campbell, Darryl White, Cameron Stokes, Joe Anderson and Jed Anderson. They might also soon be able to add Malcolm Rosas to the list, once he makes his AFL debut!

The first Buffaloes Women's team, “The Buffettes”, was established in 2004, with the inauguration of the Northern Territory Women's Football League. The Buffettes now include U15s, U18s (who have won the past five NTFL premierships, since the Under 18s division started) and Women's Premier League (2016/17 Premiership winners). The Buffs were runners up in the 2017/18 NTFL Men's Premier League season going down to Southern Districts Crocs by just one point. 

The club has expanded to cover many divisons across the NTFL competition, with teams for boys and girls U12s, Boys U14s & U16s training at Palmerston, and U12s through to Men's & Women's Premier League training in and around Darwin.

The Darwin Buffaloes Football Club is proud to be known as a family club and can boast many current players who are direct descendants of players from the club foundation years.