NTFL History

NTFL History

Since football was first played in the Northern Territory in 1916 it has captured the public imagination like no other sport. The Northern Territory Football League has a long and proud history producing many stars. 

League Best and Fairest Awards

Nichols Medallists - Although the League's Best & Fairest award dates back to the early days of Darwin football when it was known as the President's Medal, it is only since the 1948/49 season that this award has been named the Nichols Medal. The award was named after Joseph Wesley Nichols who was a past NTFL President, Secretary and Life Member.

Women's Premier League Best and Fairest Award 

Mitch Lee Medallists - The NTFL Men's Division 1 Best and Fairest Award. 

Lancaster Medallists - The NTFL Men's Division 2 Best and Fairest Award.

Abala Medallists - The NTFL Under 18 Boys Best and Fairest Award.

Grand Final Best on Ground Medals

Chaney Medal -  The Chaney Medal is named after Sir Frederick Chaney, the Administrator of the Northern Territory and Patron of the NTFL in the 1960's. The Medal was first awarded in 1970/71 to the Best of Ground in the League Grand Final and is awarded to the Best on Ground in the Men's Premier League Grand Final as chosen by a panel of three.  

Williams Medal - The Williams Medal is presented to the player deemed Best on Ground in a Women's Premier League Grand Final. The medal was named the Coca Cola Medal from 2004/05 until 2014/15 when it was re-named the Williams Medal.

Clark Medal - The Clarke Medal is presented to the player deemed Best on Ground in a Men's Division 1 (Reserves Grade) Grand Final and is named after Stewie Clark, a long time official and supporter of the Nightcliff Football Club. 


Men's Premier League Premierships from 1917 

Women's Premier League Premierships from 2004